Sitemap |  Français  | 
Incoterms® 2010

Shipping goods from country to country as part of a commercial transaction can be a risky business: your goods may go undelivered or be damaged, or even lost or stolen, leaving you with little choice but to take legal action against your supplier or your customer. In 1936, the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC), located in Paris, published Incoterms® 1936, an initial series of international rules for the interpretation of the most frequently used trade terms in international commerce. Issued in the form of abbreviations which have since been converted into standardized definitions, Incoterms® are practical and economical tools used worldwide to facilitate national and international trade procedures. In an effort to keep these rules in line with the latest national and international trade practices, amendments were made in 1953, 1967, 1976, 1980, 1990, 2000 and 2010.

By referring to any of the ICC's Incoterms® in their contract, a vendor and a purchaser specify, simply and reliably, their respective responsibilities and obligations. They also reduce the uncertainty inherent in any national or international transaction, due to interpretations and trade practices which vary from country to country. Incoterms® standardize practice and determine the transfer point of all risks. They dissociate the transfer of risk from the transfer of ownership, in addition to allocating costs and liability. Thus, Incoterms® determine whether the vendor or the purchaser will be responsible for assuming the following responsibilities or costs: freight and insurance charges, payment of duties and taxes, and all other costs associated with the movement of goods. They also determine which of the two is required to obtain various import and/or export permits and to handle other administrative procedures.

Despite such specific rules, care should be taken not to overlook local, practical or professional customs which the parties themselves may have established under a previous relationship (Article 9 of the 1980 United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sales of Goods). Any such provisions in a given contract would take priority over the interpretation rules of the various Incoterms®. Traders wishing to use these rules should specify that their contracts will be regulated by the "Incoterms® 2010" of the ICC.

The book "Incoterms® 2010" is available through the ICC's representative in Ottawa (the Canadian Council for International Business) or at Affiliated's main library, Montreal head office.

Online Information Request For more information, contact: affiliated@affiliated.ca

There are eleven (11) terms divided into two (2) groups based on the mode of transportation.

Incoterms® 2010
Group 1: Rules for any mode or modes of transport (including transportation by vessel)
   EXW    Ex Works... named place of delivery
   FCA    Free Carrier... named place of delivery
   CPT    Carriage Paid To... named place of destination
   CIP    Carriage and Insurance Paid To... named place of destination
   DAT    Delivered At Terminal... named terminal at port or place of destination
   DAP    Delivered At Place... named place of destination
   DDP    Delivered Duty Paid... named place of destination
Group 2: Rules for sea and inland waterway transport
   FAS    Free Alongside Ship... named port of shipment
   FOB    Free On Board... named port of shipment
   CFR    Cost and Freight... named port of destination
   CIF    Cost Insurance and Freight... named port of destination


Mode of transportation and the appropriate INCOTERMS® 2010Section grand public Incoterms® 2010 DefinitionsSection grand public



Complementary Information
International Terms of Trade: Anticipate the unforeseen

Terms and Conditions Governing Site Use
@ Affiliated 2007, All rights reserved.  Web design: Thrace Graphistes Conseil inc.

Plan du site |  English  | 
Incoterms® 2010

Faire voyager des marchandises à l'échelle internationale, dans le cadre d'une transaction commerciale, n'est pas sans risques: livraison non réalisée, dommages, pertes, peuvent survenir et entraîner des litiges entre les parties. En 1936, pour la première fois, la Chambre de commerce internationale (ICC), située à Paris, publie sous le nom d'Incoterms® 1936, une série de règles internationales pour l'interprétation des termes commerciaux les plus utilisés dans le commerce extérieur. Désignés sous forme d'abréviations transformées en définitions standardisées, les Incoterms® (International Commercial Terms) sont des instruments pratiques et économiques utilisés universellement pour faciliter les procédures du commerce national et international. Afin d'adapter ces termes aux changements dans les pratiques commerciales nationales et internationales des modifications et ajouts ont été apportés en 1953, 1967, 1976, 1980, 1990, 2000 et 2010.

En se référant dans leurs contrats, à l'un des Incoterms® de l'ICC, l'acheteur et le vendeur précisent simplement et en toute sécurité, leurs responsabilités et obligations respectives. Ils réduisent l'incertitude inhérente à toute transaction nationale ou internationale: pratiques commerciales et interprétations différentes à l'intérieur d'un même pays ou d'un pays à l'autre. Les Incoterms® uniformisent la pratique et déterminent le point de transfert de risques. Ils dissocient la question du transfert des risques de celle du transfert de propriété, répartissent les frais et les responsabilités. Ainsi, les Incoterms® déterminent qui du vendeur ou de l'acheteur, sera responsable d'assumer les responsabilités ou frais suivants : coûts de transport, d'assurances, frais associés, paiement des droits de douanes à l'exportation / à l'importation et des taxes, obtention des différents permis d'importation et/ou d'exportation, et toute autre procédure administrative.

Malgré ces règles précises, on ne peut faire abstraction des coutumes professionnelles, locales ou pratiques que les parties elles-mêmes peuvent avoir établies dans leurs relations antérieures (Article 9 de la Convention des Nations Unies, de 1980, sur les Contrats de Vente Internationale de Marchandises). De telles dispositions dans un contrat donné l'emporteraient sur les règles d'interprétation des différents Incoterms®. Les commerçants désireux d'utiliser les présentes règles devront spécifier que leurs contrats seront régis par les « Incoterms® 2010 » de l'ICC.

Le livre « Incoterms® 2010 » peut être obtenu des représentants de l'ICC à Ottawa, la Chambre de Commerce du Canada ou de la bibliothèque du siège social d'Affiliated à Montréal.

Demande de renseignements par courriel Pour plus de renseignements, communiquer avec nous : affiliated@affiliated.ca

Les onze termes sont classés en deux groupes selon le mode de transport.

Incoterms® 2010
Groupe 1: Tout mode de transport (incluant transport par bateau)
   EXW    À l'usine... lieu convenu (Ex WORKS)
   FCA    Franco transporteur... Lieu convenu (FREE CARRIER)
   CPT    Port payé jusqu'à... lieu de destination convenu (CARRIAGE PAID TO)
   CIP    Port Payé, assurance comprise jusqu'à... lieu de destination convenu (CARRIAGE AND INSURANCE PAID TO)
   DAT    Rendu au terminal... Lieu convenu (DELIEVERED AT TERMINAL)
   DAP    Rendu au lieu de destination (DELIEVERED AT PLACE)
   DDP    Rendu droits acquittés... lieu de destination convenu (DELIVERED DUTY PAID)
Groupe 2: Transport maritime et transport par voies fluviales
   FAS    Franco le long du navire... port d'embarquement convenu (FREE ALONGSIDE SHIP)
   FOB    Franco à bord... port d'embarquement convenu (FREE ON BOARD)
   CFR    Coût et fret... port de destination convenu (COST AND FREIGHT)
   CIF    Coût assurance et fret... port de destination convenu (COST INSURANCE AND FREIGHT)


Mode de transport et INCOTERMS® 2010 correspondantsSection grand public Définitions des Incoterms®Section grand public



Informations Complémentaires
Termes commerciaux : prévoyez l'imprévu

Termes et conditions régissant l'utilisation du site
@ Affiliated 2007, Tous droits réservés.  Conception web: Thrace Graphistes Conseil inc.